Wirenet Image Band
wirenet.org mobile image band
× Nonferrous topics such as copper and aluminum, annealing, etc. go here.

Cleaning of copper wire

• Archived Forum Admin
  • Archived Forum Admin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platnium Boarder
  • Platnium Boarder
More
12 years 3 months ago #1633 by Archived Forum Admin
Replied by Archived Forum Admin on topic Re: Cleaning of copper wire
MarkC;
Aluminum wire enamellers often use ultra sonic wire cleaners. I was a field service engineer starting up enamelling systems once in my life and between the pay off and the pre-annealer some of the aluminum wire systems had an ultra sonic cleaner. I did a search and found: www.hielscher.com/ultrasonics/wire_03.htm

From the explanation, it is very similar to what was used way back when (mid-70's) but I am certain that the technology and equipment is better today.

rb

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Archived Forum Admin
  • Platnium Boarder
  • Platnium Boarder
More
12 years 3 months ago #1622 by Archived Forum Admin
Hello Mark,

One option is Plasmait GmbH (Austria) ( www.plasmait.com/ ) represented in North America by ( www.howarequipment.com/ ) Willy Hauer in Toronto. Take a look at this Plasmait page; www.plasmait.com/index.php?page=5

A simpler but perhaps less effective process would be Boockmann GmbH (German) ( www.boockmann.com/ ) Just click on "English" and then on "Helicord". This little unit is used for a whole bunch of different applications. The Slover Group represents Boockmann in North America and you can find all that information on the Boockmann web site.

Finally there is the Cable Consultants Corporation Primary Wire Wipe. This smart looking machine is designed to clean non-ferrous solid or stranded wire from 18 to 30 AWG at speeds up to 8000 FPM. www.cableconsultantscorp.com/primary.htm

Finally look at this WAI Forums thread; www.wirenet.org/forum/viewmessages.cfm?Forum=12&Topic=407 for back-up information.

Sincerely,
Peter J. Stewart-Hay
Principal